Bonne fet Moris, Exkiz Nou!

on

Bonne Fete mo zoli ti zil … Bonne fete!

Happy Independence day Mauritius! Beautiful Island! Yes I am proud to be called Mauritian, proud of having been born in a peaceful country which gives me all I need to be happy and prosperous.

Thank you Mauritius!

This gratefulness is marred with a feeling of guilt though. You give so much, yet what have you received from us; children of yours?

Excuse me Mauritius!

You are a tiny insignificant dot on the world map, yet the world knows about you. People from far away countries heard of you and you glow in pride with all your unique resources. You are so young my country, you have so much to go through, so much more to see and live. You need to grow.

I pray that your children stop destroying you.

I pray that your children start protecting you.

How can I wish you a happy day when I know that right now we are killing you? Mauritius, the world knows you for your eventful history and peace, your blue lagoons, yellow beaches and green scenery but this very wealth is not taken care of.

We have allowed dirty politics to stain this fragile peace of yours, allowed our greediness to destroy your lagoon, ruined your ecosystem and forests and spoiled your lands with concrete, filth and chemicals.

We are not honoring you!

The campaign for this year has as theme: Nou destin dans nu lamain!

Whose hands are we talking about here?

For me, I understand that I should take things in my hands, I should voice out my concerns, fears and aspirations for my country, I should come up with concrete ideas to change things for the better and I should fight injustice and aim at getting better on a personal level. This is what I understand from: Nou destin dans nou lamain!

But we can’t fool you Dear Island. You know that this is just gibberish.

We broke your heart and I know that.

You are witnessing your destruction and your slow downfall and this as a mother must be shattering.

We are allowing people to draw a line between different communities. All of them your children!

We are watching them destroy your forests and your lagoons. All of them your children!

We are agreeing to the brutal murder of animals. All of them your children!

We are silent on injustice and poverty.

We have totally disrespected you Mama Moris but yet we take pride in being called your children.

Excuse us Mauritius!

But I still want to believe that my destiny is in my hands… So I will try to live up to your splendor. I will voice out but I am not sure whether it will be heard

One Comment Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Through the Islander's Prism and commented:
    Yes I am proud to be called Mauritian, proud of having been born in a peaceful country which gives me all I need to be happy and prosperous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

